April 12, 2016 0

Review: The Odyssey

By in Review

Title: The OdysseyAuthor: HomerPublisher: Barnes & Noble Release Date: August 18, 2008 Genre/Age Group: Adventure, Adult, Mythology Source: Gifted Add it: Goodreads Rating: Hector bidding farewell to his wife and baby son. Odysseus bound to the mast listening to the Sirens. Penelope at the loom, Achilles dragging Hector’s body round the walls of Troy–scenes from […]

Tags:

March 10, 2016 0

Review: The Rose Society

By in Review

Title: The Rose Society (The Young Elites #2)Author: Marie LuPublisher: Putnam Juvenile Release Date: October 13, 2015 Genre/Age Group: Young Adult, High Fantasy Source: Gifted Add it: Goodreads Rating: Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all. Adelina Amouteru’s […]

Tags:

February 22, 2016 2

Review: The Iliad

By in Review

Title: The IliadAuthor: HomerPublisher: Barnes & Noble Release Date: August 18, 2008 Genre/Age Group: Adventure, Adult, Mythology Source: Purchased Add it: Goodreads Rating: “The Iliad” is a classical epic poem about the events during the last year of the Trojan War and the fall of Troy. The tale revolves around the Greek warrior Achilles, and […]

Tags:

December 21, 2015 3

Review: Dangerous Girls

By in Review

Title: Dangerous GirlsAuthor: Abigail HaasPublisher: Simon Pulse Release Date: July 16, 2013 Genre/Age Group: Crime, Mystery, Young Adult Source: Gifted Add it: Goodreads Rating: It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to […]

Tags:

August 31, 2015 4

Review: The Boy Most Likely To

By in Review

Title: The Boy Most Likely To (My Life Next Door #2)Author: Huntley FitzpatrickPublisher: Dial Books Release Date: August 18, 2015 Genre/Age Group: Young Adult, Realistic Fiction, Contemporary Romance Source: Gifted Add it: Goodreads Rating: A surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han Tim Mason was […]

Tags: